Cosy Cowl Tutorial

Leave a comment

January 1, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

You may remember that I told you about the 2 (different) balls of wool given to me for Christmas. I’m a real amateur at knitting, so this was somewhat of a double challenge to find something small and simple to make. The black yarn is a chunky pom pom style, and the turquoise a thick fleecy polyester one. Both are from Tiger and not very expensive, so quite fun to experiment with.
I decided to use the black first, as I’m already knitting something else in pom pom yarn so I was in the zone, so to speak. This type of yarn is not hard to use, but takes a bit of getting used to. You don’t get much meterage per ball, so I settled on a cowl/neck warmer and cast on 12 stitches and worked it entirely in knit stitch. They key is to work around the pompoms and use the cord in between to stitch with. I ended up with the right length (just) to make a neat little cowl.

image

I raided my button stash for some chunky black buttons and found some black cord to make loops out of.

image

I attached the buttons and threaded the cord through to make loops, knotting it as I went. (This felt more secure than cutting individual loops and stitching them down.)

image

And job done! I’m quite pleased with it – it is chunky and cosy but plain enough to work with most coats/outfits. It only took a couple of hours to make up so a perfect quick make – I did it whilst watching a film!
I think I may give it as a gift as I have a million scarves, and I have someone in mind who will hopefully do it justice!

image

Oh and by the way – Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,632 other followers

