Vintage Perks!

10

January 8, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

One of the advantages of working for a vintage clothing company is getting to raid the charity bag before it goes on it’s merry way. This is rich pickings for a crafty type like me, and it’s always surprising what hasn’t sold or has been deemed uncool!
Today’s haul was a good un – 1950’s long line strapless bra, unworn in it’s original box; yellow floral 1960’s cotton print pj’s, also unworn in the original packaging; pink silky lace pj’s that need a wash but are ripe for customising into sonething new; and a green Ralph Lauren jumper in merino wool – hungry moths mean this is perfect to add to my patchwork blanket pile!

image

I do all of the alterations and repairs at work too, and get to keep any leftover fabrics. Vintage fabrics. Pretty, quirky, crazy vintage fabrics. A-maz-ing!!

image

Most of these come from maxi dresses chopped down to mini dresses, so I’m normally left with panels that are perfect for smaller craft projects or covering buttons. I have so much fabric now, that I feel a giveaway coming on – watch this space!
I’m off to enjoy a coffee whilst the toddler naps, and maybe do some knitting. Rock and roll.

10 thoughts on “Vintage Perks!

  1. Love it! That is a very good perk of the job! Do you find you hoard fabric? I do. I have an addiction, even tiny scraps get kept ;-D

    • I have such a massive stash of fabric! Anything too small to fold goes into a laundry bin full of scraps…I can’t bear to throw it away!! I dread the day we need to make space and I have to have a clear out!

  2. Ooooh, that fabric looks lovely! Jealous!

  3. [...] I mentioned in this post, I have a massive collection of vintage fabric pieces, so I have had a little rummage and thought I [...]

  4. How does one get to work in a vintage clothing company? 30+ years of boring old public service I now have job envy!!!! WOW how happy must every day be? DONT ANSWER THAT, my envy may get ugly ;)

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,638 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,638 other followers

