Super Spoonflower!

5

January 25, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

Ok I admit it. I am an addict. I stand before you, hand on heart, and confess. I cannot stop designing fabric for Spoonflower.

In case you are not familiar, Spoonflower is a website that allows you to upload your own designs, and turn them into fabric. And wallpaper. And wall decals. You can order your own design and receive it through the post and turn it into any manner of things. Or you can browse the design galleries and choose someone else’s unique design and have that printed instead. You can even upload your own designs and sell it to other people and earn some cash. Have i converted you yet??

I had heard about it a few weeks ago but the arrival of a shiny new Samsung tablet (so nifty!) encouraged me to use the pen function on photoshop and do some simple sketches and upload them. I have been doing some research into 1920’s and 1930’s fabrics so that is my current inspiration – what do you think?

Maud Flowers

Deco Fan

Deco Marigolds-ed

Deco Multi Flowers

Obviously to make great fabric designs you need to dedicate a bit more time than an episode of Eastenders permits, but I am really enjoying chanelling my inner textile designer and may even get some swatches printed when I have enough samples. (To sell your fabrics  you must first ‘approve’ a sample, and they will send you a a large piece of fabric with a small swatch of each printed onto it. The more in your ‘collection’ the more cost effective it is, especially as it ships from the States.)

There are some truly lovely, unique designs in the galleries, and you can spend a pretty penny if you’re not careful. I will let you know when I get a sample sheet through the post, but for now, have a look at some of these gorgeous fabrics!

fantastical stellata

Pod-Cast

Granny Square

5 thoughts on “Super Spoonflower!

  1. [...] know when they may come in useful for research purposes! (you can see how they have inspired my Spoonflower fabric [...]

  2. stitch this says:

    Glad to see you’re as addicted as me! It’s a marvellous thing. Just waiting for my swatches too…

  3. Margo says:

    I only heard about this company last week from an embroidery friend of mine. It sounds so exciting. As someone who trained as a textile designer in the 70’s an the taught Art for 30 years I can now start to get some of my own designs actually printed. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,604 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,604 other followers

