Eliza M – Alma Wiggle Skirt

2

May 5, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

When I’ve not been manically trying to drum up sales for the website, I have found a little time to do some more sewing. I’ve got lots of things to show you in the next few weeks, but thought I would start off with my version of the Alma skirt by Eliza M.
a6_for_web7_alma

This is a classic 50′s wiggle/pencil skirt – fitted, slinky and perfect for showing off your curves. Unfortunately my curves were a little too ample for the size I made – a good lesson in always making a toile whe trying out a new pattern. *sigh*. Oh well, it is only the tiniest bit tight at the waist, so perhaps a few summer salads and a few less winter carbs will mean it’ll be perfect for Autumn!

It was a really easy pattern to follow, and it didn’t take very long to make. I used a very fine wool, and with hindsight I would either add a lining next time (this is not included in the pattern but wouldn’t be hard to do) or I would make it from a fabric with a slight stretch as this wool is pretty unforgiving!

I have dressed it on the mannequin to show how I would have worn it if only I was just slightly less rounded of tum (can you tell this is a sore point for me…) the belt also hides my slightly skew whiff waistband, which despite cutting it to match up with the checks on the skirt, still managed to be a bout 1/2″ out. Grrr.

I’ll be making this again for sure, as I think it is rather flattering and easy to dress up or down, and great with a blouse and some seamed stocking…purrrr!!

 

You can buy this pattern on the website  - it is available in a multisize pattern for £9.50!

IMG_6772 IMG_6768 IMG_6767

 

2 thoughts on “Eliza M – Alma Wiggle Skirt

  1. sharan king says:

    is this an easy pattern to sew for a complete beginer _ I am on learning to sew straight lines at my Sewing Bee at the moment – love the material – do you stock?

    • Hi Sharan,
      Yes it was easy to make, and as a beginner I think it would be great – it will give you a few challenges (fitting a zip, doing a hem) but just enough to teach you some new skills, rather than overwhelm you. I don’t stock the fabric I’m afraid – it was a small piece I had in my stash. I would suggest using a plain fabric to begin with though, so you don’t need to worry about matching patterns etc. A cotton with a little bit of stretch or a nice medium weight wool would be lovely in my opinion! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,585 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,585 other followers

