Cherry Print Baby Dress and Shoes *Free Pattern*

2

February 7, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

Many moons ago I had a little sideline in making baby items, and one of my bestsellers was cotton baby shoes and boots. I haven’t made any in ages, but a friend asked recently if I had any, and as it happened I still had a few pairs hanging around that I hadn’t sold. She also asked whether I’d be able to make a little dress to match, for her to give as a gift for a newborn baby. Is there anything sweeter than little tiny dresses I ask you? It was of course a pleasure to make such a teeny outfit, and pretty simple too. I used this pattern and tutorial from Made by Rae (who also sells some lovely patterns too!) and I think I sized it up slightly, as she was a nice cuddly sized newborn!

The shoes are made using this pattern from a shop on etsy, and although slightly fiddly to make, look so adorable I think they are worth the effort. I handstitched the applique cherries, and used vintage buttons too. (To be honest, the shoes are more of a novelty than a practicality, but do look very sweet for a photograph!)

I never did get a picture of the recipient modelling everything, but my slightly fuzzy phone photo gives you an idea!

1394901_10151961152010692_1274523915_n

If you like the cherry print fabric and bias binding, they can be found in my shop here:

Cherry print cotton

Green spotty bias binding

2 thoughts on “Cherry Print Baby Dress and Shoes *Free Pattern*

  1. Josie says:

    What beautiful work, those shoes are just darling!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,531 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,531 other followers

