Adventures with loo roll…

4

January 11, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

After the overindulgence, late nights and excitement of Christmas, it’s proving a challenge, to say the least, to get the toddler to get back into some kind of routine. Despite the vast array of shiny new toys littering every corner of the house, she’s grumpy, over stimulated and obsessed with watching her gruffalo dvd. So it’s time to get back to basics and find some simple and fun games and crafts to keep her entertained.
I found this blog At Home with Ali to have some clever and super easy ideas, so operation ‘entertain the 2 year old with junk around the house’ has commenced.
I spotted 3 lonely loo rolls lurking in the bathroom, so I thought I’d try out Ali’s idea in her post above.
I’m not a super clean freak by any means, but apparently if you blast the loo rolls in the microwave for 20 seconds it kills any nasties – having recently dealt with various tummy bugs I like to err on the side of caution, so hot toilet rolls it is!

image

In the spirit of reusing and recycling, I grabbed some ribbon originally wrapped around a christmas pressie, and chopped up the rolls.
Um, that’s it.
The toddler and I threaded and unthreaded, threw the rolls around, ran in a circle maypole stylee and pretended it was a snake.

image

Then she flung herself on the floor and demanded chocolate.
Well at least it’s a start…

4 thoughts on “Adventures with loo roll…

  1. Madeleine says:

    Try pipe cleaners – I LOVE them…or rather my 4 year old does. My 2 year old hasn’t shown much interest but maybe with a bit of encouragement…

  2. Ali says:

    I am so glad you and your daughter had fun with threading. I think I might zap my toilet rolls in the microwave next time too.

    So sorry it has taken me months to pop over and have a look at your wonderful blog, things have been slipping through the cracks.

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,633 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
