Independent Sewing Patterns

5

January 22, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

I don’t really bother making New Year’s resolutions, as on any given month I could usually do with eating less crap and dragging my backside to the gym, so January is no different.

However, one thing I consciously want to make an effort to do more of this year is sewing clothing, both for myself and my daughter. I literally have no excuse apart from having no designated space for my sewing machine,  but frankly that’s a cop out as the kitchen table is just as viable.

As part of my Big Polished Button Business Project ( it’s essential that this is said with an X Factor style voice over, makes me feel like I’m important and getting somewhere…) I have been doing some research into independent pattern designers, particularly companies that do designs with a vintage twist. My dear friend and all round clever lady Zoe over at So Zo…Blog is always a guiding light in these matters,  and she wrote an excellent blog post a few months ago on this very subject.

The state of sewing pattern independence

I have been having a mooch through various websites, and thought I would show you some of my favourites.

First up probably one of the most well-known indie companies is Colette Patterns. They have a huge selection with a real retro twist. My favourites at the moment are the Hazel dress – perfect for summer in a cool cotton print, and the Beignet skirt, perhaps in a wool flannel or cotton drill? Perfect for work!

Colette Patterns Hazel

A fairly new UK company is Eliza M Patterns. These have a 1940’s/50’s appeal to them, and I’m sorely tempted by the Hop and Swing Pants. I love high waisted, wide leg trousers, but struggle to find THE perfect pair – I am only 5’2″ with a big bum and smallish waist, so trousers send to gape at the back, wrinkle across the hips or have side pockets which cause a hideously unflattering winged hip effect – not good! Maybe these are the ones??

Eliza M Hop and Swing

Finally, it’s not just all about me, oh no, I have a very stylish 2 year old to think about too. Check out this set from Mod Kids – how cute is that? And the print possibilities are endless!

Mod Kids HannahCan you recommend and indie pattern suppliers? I’d love your suggestions to add to my research list!

5 thoughts on “Independent Sewing Patterns

  1. Sewaholic is a great indie pattern company, and I have had great luck with Tasia’s patterns. They have a trouser called Thurlow which caters toward the body type you described. I’m sure you’ve heard of it but give it a Google. Lladybird did a Thurlow sewalong back in November, so I’m sure you’ll see lots of discussions about it.

  2. Zoe says:

    Aww thanks heaps for the link lovely! Can’t wait to see your’s and Alice’s handmade wardrobe as they develop. Lots of love xxx

  3. Alexandra says:

    I think there’s something in this – so many of us are getting fed up with high street offerings and added to which, like you I’ve got small waist-fat arse syndrome which means only a few retailers fit anyway – a 3″ differential is *not* an hourglass! 😦

    Anyway, when I was younger my mum made a lot of our clothes partially because IT WAS THE 70s, and partially because she liked doing it. Back then of course there was probably somewhere on every row of shops which sold patterns – I remember seeing them in newsagents! And even 30 years on I can remember the fabric shops my mum would take us to in Maidenhead.

    I think we’re at a loss now as to where we can buy fabrics/patterns and what to expect. It feels to me as though for a generation (20 years) we’ve deserted home made clothes and we’ve lost the suppliers. Do John Lewis even still have their giant “haberdashery” emporiums?

  4. […] Sewing Directory, I won a pattern of my choice from Sewbox. I chose the trousers I harped on about here – Eliza M’s Hop and Swing pants. I am especially excited as only this week I had a […]

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
