Very Graphic Content!

4

February 8, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

I have been elbow deep in designing my new website recently, and it is always the smallest things that take the longest time. I have quite a clear idea of how I want it to look, but getting it that way has taken forever! I spent the best part of 12 hours in one day designing and redesigning the logo, and I finally got it right. On my way up to bed I passed the study and thought I’d take one last look using my husband’s massive monitor (ahem…). Yep still happy, The Vintage Button is lookin….woah woah whaat? The Vintage Button? My business is called The Polished Button…back to photoshop we go then *sigh*.

Anyway, my stupidity tiredness aside, I did spend some length of time trawling for free brushes, patterns and clip art for photoshop, and thought I’d share some of my finds for those interested in pretty graphics.
First up I found The Graphic Fairy – an amazing resource of thousands of vintage style images and sketches, as well as ideas and inspiration for how to use them.

I also found this nice little collection of old paper effects on Bittbox,  and when combined with this torn edge effect I found on Deviantart, they worked pretty well!

In other news, I won a competition – whooop! Via The Sewing Directory, I won a pattern of my choice from Sewbox. I chose the trousers I harped on about here – Eliza M’s Hop and Swing pants. I am especially excited as only this week I had a lovely email chat with the guys over there about stocking their patterns in my shop, but ssshh more on that at a later date. I feel it is my duty to road test the pattern and keep you updated, so that is what I shall do!
image

4 thoughts on “Very Graphic Content!

  1. Fiona says:

    Glad you got your pattern quickly and good luck with the logo design (and the million other jobs required when setting up a business). I spent 8 months pre-launch working 7 days a week so I know the pain!

  2. Have I mentioned recently that I love you? I’ve had an awful time trying to find decent pictures recently, graphics fairy is AMAZING! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
