And the award goes to…

10

May 3, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

Phew, what a mammoth week it’s been – I ran giveaways, sent out discount codes, launched the website and packed and posted lots of lovely orders! I’m in need of GIN!

But first and foremost, can I thank you all for being so positive, enthusiastic and down right marvellous while I bombarded you with blog posts, Facebook statuses and tweets galore!

You may remember I mentioned that the lovely Helen over at Grosgrain Green nominated me for a Leibster Award. So, you all now have to go and look at Helen’s blog, because she and it are lovely, and I really enjoy following her sewing adventures. Her honesty and humour makes a refreshing change from just seeing overly styled and pristine creations – I like to see a sewer’s journey through their work, and she sure does make some beautiful things whilst remaining down to earth and willing to point out any faults or ‘learning curves’ along the way. Plus she has excellent taste in pretty floral fabrics!

So, as part o the award, I have to answer the following questions set by Helen. So here goes!

1. Why did you start sewing/making?

I think I have always done some kind of needlework – I loved cross stitch as a kid, but as I got older I always had some kind of craft kit for Christmas – everything from lacemaking to knitting, so I turned my hand to lots of things. Sewing really became an interest at college when I made costumes for my drama class and got my first machine for my 18th birthday. I haven’t looked back since! (And my trusty Toyota is still going bless it!)

2. What’s your favourite part of sewing/making?

That’s a tough one because I trained as a designer, so my first instinct is to design something from scratch. Time and budget has forced me to do less experimentation and more ‘final garment making though so I now enjoy sourcing the perfect pattern and matching it with beautiful fabrics and of course covering everything with buttons πŸ˜‰

3. And least favourite?

Zips and armholes. God I hate setting in sleeves!

4. Who is your muse/style idol/style inspiration/style crush? Can be real or fictional. Famous or civilian.

Oooh everyone from Elizabeth I (I love a bit of Tudor fashion me!) to the glamour of old Hollywood starlets like Ava Gardner or the simplicity of Audrey Hepburn (oh to have a dancers physique!) I tend not to follow current slebs so I’m a bit clueless as to who wears what these days, but I do have a very stylish selection of good friends who always look fab in so many different ways, so I love seeing how they put together things and wear them well.
5. What is your proudest make?

My wedding dress – I look back on it now and can see loads of mistakes, but I still think it’s beautiful! (Posey wedding photo alert…)

4008340518_23f9bf28ef_z
6. And least proud?

You know, I’m proud of all the things I have made – some are pretty terrible in hindsight, but I poured blood, sweat and tears into them so I must have loved them all at some point. (Even if I didn’t bother ironing the hems before sewing them tssk!!)

7. What’s your sewing/making bete noire? Your biggest challenge, or the thing you’ve been putting off?

Ooooh I don’t know – I’ve never been a fan of making curtains – too much fabric and too many straight lines. So I never make curtains at home!

8. Where do you find inspiration?

Vintage all the way – be it a vintage pattern, family photo from way back or even historical costumes, I love the techniques, fabrics and cut of clothes made in a time when people were time rich but money poor. SO much imagination and creativity!
9. Do you have any other hobbies, other than sewing/making?

Ummmm…gin?
10. What is your sewing set up? Do you have a dedicated sewing space? Are you relegated to a corner of the living room?

I have a spare room which I share with my husband – his computer crap on one side, my lovely sewingy fabricy vintage haven on the other. It is crammed full though, as all my stock from The Polished Button is there too!

 

So there you go, does any of this ring true with you as well?

Here are my nominations – the rules say I have to choose 10 with under 200 followers but a) not all the blogs show the follower numbers and b) I follow quite a few big blogs, so I’ve tried my hardest but I wanted to show you people I actually enjoy, rather than just nominating for the sake of it!

1. Claire Payne Handmade.

I met Claire at a baby event I organised, and she is very lovely and enormously talented. Her bright and fun gifts are gorgeous, and her tutorials are fab too – look out for my version of the toddler tutu coming soon!

2. Crafts on Sea.

Not only is Kate very funny, but her posts are often thought provoking and interesting too. A good mix of crafty stuff and more general bits and bobs here.

3. Buttons and Paint.

I think I found these guys via twitter, but they post some cute and easy tips and tricks for general crafty fun!

4. Lucky Lucille

I suspect Rochelle has a ton of followers, but I love her dedication to all things vintage, and she always looks blinking fabulous. One for 40’s gals!

5. My Make Do and Mend Year

This is such a great idea – a journey through one year of buying nothing new! Reckon you could do it? Not sure I could, but fascinating to see it in action!

6. Lucy Scott Bakes a Lot

My dear friend Lucy is a magnificently talented baker and cake queen – I should know, I ‘ve been on the receiving end of more than one of her tasty creations! She was shortlisted for The Great British Bake Off this year, but got pipped to the post. She has started this lovely blog which will leave you drooling!

Hop over and say hi to all these guys and keep an eye out for their response to my questions below!

1. How long have you been blogging and why did you start?

2. What do you do in the real world – is it linked to your blog theme or something completely different?

3. In your dream world, where money is no object, what would you do/make/create and why?

4. What area of your crafting/making do you like most?

5.Β And least?

6. What have you made that you have been most proud of, and why?

7. What inspires you? Who, what, where or when always fills you with ideas?

8. What has been your favourite blog moment so far?

9. Do you have a preferred method of working? Is there a radio station you listen to, or a view you like to gaze at whilst pondering an important point?

10. Who is your all time favourite person and why?

 

10 thoughts on “And the award goes to…

  1. Oh thank you for including me on your list! I’ve been struggling to find ‘grown up craft’ blogs to follow so am going to go and have a look at all of them πŸ™‚ and will have my answers p in the next week πŸ™‚ ps and your wedding dress is gorgeous!!

  2. Jen says:

    Thankyou so much for the nomination-I am honoured πŸ™‚

  3. Helen says:

    Hi Ruth! Thank you so much for your lovely, kind words. I still think it’s funny that other people actually read my blog, never mind find it interesting! πŸ™‚

    Your answers to my questions were great. I am in awe of the fact that you made your wedding dress, and you look beautiful in that picture! And I LOVE the fact that your sewing machine is a Toyota! My previous car was a Toyota that was 16 before it died completely. My current car is also a Toyota. I never knew they made sewing machines!

    Also, just to let you know I received the giveaway fabric today, thanks so much, it’s lovely! And your little button and measuring tape stickers are so cute! I need to stop spending so much on fabric just now, but as soon as I’ve sewn a bit more from my stash, I will be (virtually) stopping by your shop. I see you have some lovely florals on there…! πŸ™‚

    • Ah thank you Helen – it was fun doing it! I am on to my second toyota sewing machine now – they are nothing fancy, but trusty and reliable – much like the cars! (I had a happy little Yaris for a few years!)
      I’m looking forward to seeing how you use the fabric – I’m planning a Mathilde blouse with it when I get some time!
      Stop by any time for a lovely floral fix πŸ˜‰

  4. Lucy Scott says:

    Thanks Ruth! As a newbie to blogging I really appreciate your nomination to get me to a) talk about myself .. which believe it or not I find quiet difficult on paper (or screen) and b) to help me network with other bloggers and of course it’s another excuse to talk about cake .. so .. πŸ˜‰ xx

  5. Thanks for the nomination, especially from someone so talented as you! xx

  6. Kay says:

    I love finding new blogs to look at. i love to bake as well as my sewing and cross stitch, baking is my therapy. I am sure to find some happy reading ahead.

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,633 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
