Toddler Sun Hat *Free Pattern*

3

May 24, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

If you looked really closely, you may have noticed that we had Summer a couple of weeks ago. 2 whole days of warmth, sunshine and sunburn – hurrah!! Obviously, being the UK we’re back to Autumn now, but it was nice while it lasted. I foolishly made the mistake of believing it was here to stay, and panicked that a) the toddler’s current hats were all too small for her, and b) she would have nothing to shield her delicate scalp and eyes from the bright burning sun. Apparently I should have calmed down a little…

Anyway, she loves her new ‘rain hat’ (yes her term not mine!) and I think she looks dead sweet in it. I made it using a remnant of vintage teal floral cotton I picked up at a car boot sale for 20p, and trimmed it with some red spotty bias binding.  The pattern is another freebie found here and although in theory should have been fairly straightforward, I did find it a bit fiddly in places. It is reversible and could I get the two pieces to fit neatly?? Could I hell. Add to that I decided to get a bit fancy and add a bias trim at the crown too (badly thought out on my part, and I managed to do it in a completely cack-handed manner, such is my standard technique), so it has some interesting bumps to it, but all in all, it is fit for purpose and is popular with her ladyship, so I can’t complain! I’ve never made a hat before, but I’d definitely do one again, but perhaps follow the actual instructions, rather than trying to off-road it 😉

wpid-2013-05-14-10-38-50

image

image

3 thoughts on “Toddler Sun Hat *Free Pattern*

  1. Thank you for the pattern link, looks fab

  2. chantal says:

    Can’t wait to make this hat

  3. Marie Jones says:

    Thank you for the pattern. Going through a heat wave at the moment so will try this for my grandchildren. Looks great, well done!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
