Buttons DO grow on trees! *Tutorial*

5

June 1, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

 

 

 

I was asked by some friends recently to make a button tree canvas (one for a wedding present, one for a living room wall!) Being the queen of all things buttony, I could hardly refuse, so here is a little guide should you want to make one yourself!

I bought some largish plain white canvases, and started by sketching out in pencil the shape and size of the tree.

image

I then picked out the colours and sizes I needed for each tree (one was to be bright, the other slightly more muted). I used about 150 buttons for each tree, but you may need more/less depending on how big your buttons are and how dense you want the ‘blossom’ to be!

image

I fired up my trusty glue gun, and got busy glueing those buttons in place – I ended up having a system of alternating colours, so I didn’t end up with clumps of matching buttons, but that could just be me being a little OTT with my planning!image

 

image

Eventually the tree filled out nicely, so I left the buttons to dry and mixed up some brown acrylic paint. I began by painting in the edges and making a few arty farty curly lines, to give it a bit of an organic feel. Once the initial lines had dried, I gave it a slightly more watered down wash of paint, to fill in the trunk and branches.

Once the paint had dried, I used a black marker and a pencil to sketch over the top, creating a bark effect, and also adding a few swirls where I thought it was needed.

And that’s it! A relaxing and enjoyable project, and not too expensive or taxing either!

Eimage

image

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Buttons DO grow on trees! *Tutorial*

  1. Cathy Leach says:

    That’s really lovely Ruth! xx

  2. Nay says:

    Hi, I love your blog so I’ve nominated you for an award. http://thewardrobesurgeon.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/the-liebster-award/

  3. Anna says:

    That tree thing is beautiful. You’re very talented ๐Ÿ™‚ and your blog is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
