Self Drafted Skirt

2

August 14, 2013 by thepolishedbutton

I recently found some very cute toile du jouy linen fabric at a carboot sale, for the princely sum of 50p. There was only about a metre of it though, so I set my mind to planning a simple summery A-line skirt.

929_10151675853640692_388672766_n

I made a very simple pattern (literally waist measurement, hip measurement and length, in a nice straight line on the paper!) After running up a quick toile, I decided it need a tad more shape, so I altered the waistline to create a yoke at the top, so I could then trim the seam with some plain piping. At this point I realised I had never made piping before, so accepted the challenge, and found it was rather easy. Some string, some homemade black bias binding and a long straight stitch on the machine later – voila! Some piping, and very pleased with myself i was too! (I followed this guide by Burdastyle if you want to try it yourself)

2013-06-12 12.04.14

 

The skirt was a snip to sew together, and a zip at the back finished the job. The pockets were inspired by this post by A Fashionable Stitch, and I added some vintage buttons (of course) as a feature. For a quick and easy summer skirt, I think it turned out pretty well! (Although I only wore it twice before my waistline decided it was not going to be contained by mere linen…bring on the jersey waistbands 😉 )

474844_10151682522225692_128136838_o

2 thoughts on “Self Drafted Skirt

  1. Helen says:

    THis is lovely. And string! What a genius idea! I’ve never made or used piping before either but assumed you would need to buy specific cording, or something similar! Pity you can’t fit into the skirt any more – maybe next summer? And congratulations by the way!!!

  2. A Fine Hand says:

    Bravo to you! I love it when a fabric stimulates you to become creative!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
