Summer sewing *Free Pattern*

2

May 19, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

Finally we’ve had some lovely weather, so I’ve been sending my sewing machine into overdrive and whipping up a few frocks!
First up, I made some things for the girl, despite the fact she has a wardrobe stuffed with lovely things, I can’t resist making things for her.

This is the hem of a 70’s maxi dress, left over when it received a makeover. I simply used shirring elastic in the bobbin to smock the bodice (did you know when you steam shirring it tightens up to make the smocking super stretchy? It’s magic!!) and made some spaghetti tie straps at the shoulders. All done within an hour and ideal for a hot day (with lots of suncream!)

image

Continuing the 70’s vibe, we had an old bean bag which had seen better days. I salvaged the very cool toadstool print fabric and used this brilliant free pattern from Elegance and Elephants to make a playsuit. I think I’ll make the long version too as it was so quick to do!

image

image

2 thoughts on “Summer sewing *Free Pattern*

  1. Helen says:

    So cute! Both are lovely.

  2. Allison Graden says:

    So Cute!!!! What a great way to “upcycle”! I can’t wait to have a granddaughter that I can sew for!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
