New Look 6856 Boat Neck Top

6

June 19, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

I had a bit of a spending spree on http://sewingpatterns.com/ recently – although it is a US website, they offer downloads of most things, so as long as you don’t mind printing them yourself, there are some bargains to be had. There was a half price sale on New Look patterns, so I stocked up. Expect to see a few knocking around here in the next few weeks!

So firstly, here is New Look 6856 – I wanted a simple, 50’s style top to wear tucked in or out, and this seemed to fit the bill.

new look 6856

 

I made the boat neck top in a vintage wool jersey, and it was a total doddle to  make. I had it cut and sewn in one evening, and apart from a little tweaking (I wanted it a little more fitted so whisked in the seams at the waist) it is spot on as a wardrobe basic!

New Look 6856 Boat Neck Top

Do you like my new brooch by the way? It was a birthday pressie and is a super cute felt cherry!

6 thoughts on “New Look 6856 Boat Neck Top

  1. Mum says:

    Lovely top Ruth! I like the colour.

  2. Helen says:

    Looks really cute! Casual but also smart. I love the colour. And the brooch which goes perfectly!

  3. […] Anyway, after a ‘hang’ overnight, and a surprisingly stress free hemming, it was all done, and I have worn it loads since – it’s perfect with my New Look boat neck top! […]

  4. This top looks so good! I used to sew in the past but don’t find (ehum, take) the time for it anymore. Really inspiring to see such a nice and quick pattern (and it looks very comfortable too). Thanks for sharing!

  5. […] This is a bit of a lazy post in a way, as it involves fabric I have already shown you here, and patterns I have already made here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
