Pussy Bow Blouse Disaster!

3

August 2, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

The time has come to finally accept defeat. I love pussy bow blouses. However, they appear not to be so keen on me. Avert your eyes if you are of a sensitive disposition, it’s not a happy sight.

I give you example number 1. The bow tie blouse from Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing. Every other version i have seen looks sweet, cute and a little bit flirty. Check out Gertie’s and House of Pinheiro below.

 

bow tied blouse 027

bowtieblouse10

Mine however looks distinctly stuffy and matronly. Boooo!

Bow Tie Blouse

Next up, this rather cool little 1970’s pattern, Simplicity 9604. Again, looks great on the envelope (when will I learn that the artwork is completely unrepresentative of the actual pattern?) but it looks so promising right? Check out the keyhole neckline, and the wide sleeves!

Simplicity-9604

 

 

But again, on me, pretty unflattering, despite the distinctly Celia Birtwell-esque printed crepe! (Both pattern and fabric are available to buy if you can do them greater justice than I!) This hangs mournfully in my wardrobe,pleading with me to wear it so I’m trying to find a way to rework it! I’ve tried it with trousers, skirts, tucked in, tucked out, with a belt…all suck!

Simplicity 9604 Pussy Bow Tunic

So, I’m graciously bowing out, as either my buxom frame or bad styling judgement is making me feel pretty darn frumpy, which is a shame, because I do love a a nice bow! *sniff*

 

3 thoughts on “Pussy Bow Blouse Disaster!

  1. Luna says:

    It’s the boobs. Those of us blessed in the boob department just can’t pull them off.

  2. sharonmamadiva says:

    you are soooo right about the picture never being a realistic picture of what the finished item will look like, the drawings always show drape and gather and fullness that’s never there in the finished article lol xxx

  3. Jenny says:

    I would agree with Luna – I have amply bosomage too and find the combination of a high neckline with the addition of a bow just dosn’t work for me. I did make one with a slightly lower neckline (button front) and that was better but meant retieing it every time and could take ages to get it right!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
