Frozen…in the middle of summer!

3

August 13, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

As the parent of a 3 year old girl, it hasn’t escaped my notice that every child has gone bonkers for the film Frozen, so it was only a matter of time before madam wised up to my costume sewing skills and set me to task. So it was, that the words ‘Mummy, can you make me an Elsa dress?’, tripped off her tongue with such hope and excitement there was no way I could say no (and frankly, why would I? Sparkly, glittery princess dresses are my favourite 😉 )

With Disney approved costumes going for a small fortune, and even fabric related to it not far off, I begged, borrowed and stole (well maybe not actual thievery…) a nice little collection of blue sparkly remnants – perfect!

 

 

2014-07-30 10.57.05

 

To make the costume, I simply used one of her dresses to get an idea of size, and cut out various rectangles – two for the bodice piece (the front piece slightly curved), 2 for the skirt, and one extra wide one for the cape, so it could be gathered up. I whizzed them all together (I originally put elastic at the bodice top to stop it gaping, but ended up removing it as it made it a little to pinchy under the arms.) The straps are just covered pieces of elastic, and the cape is gathered onto the back bodice.

It took me all of 2 hours from start to finish, and it was well worth it for the squeal of delight when I gave it to her the next morning. She has worn it every day since, to the point where I may have to make her a new one!! (I even had enough fabric left to make a slightly smaller one for my little god-daughter!)

Despite what the photo’s suggest (she was in a strop because I asked her to stand still and pose…) she is totally thrilled with it!

2014-07-31 12.30.24 2014-07-31 12.30.232014-07-31 12.30.22

3 thoughts on “Frozen…in the middle of summer!

  1. Allison Graden says:

    OMG! How cute is that! Good for you! She will remember that you made her that when she is 50! I wish I had a granddaughter to do that for. My “kids” are 30 and 23 but they still consult with mom for costumes.

  2. So cute! My son is obsessed with Frozen, but luckily hasn’t asked for a costume just yet!!!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,633 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
