Vintage 1960’s Ann Adams 9368 Dress Pattern

6

September 6, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

I bought this little shift dress pattern from a friend in an online sewing group recently, but was then stumped as to what fabric to use. Enter this rather retro polyjersey I bought in the Rag Market recently – it’s convincingly vintage, and I thought it would be spot on for this pattern.

image

image

Check out the scallops at the neckline and collar – I thought this looked really unusual, but a bit of research shows this is quite a common design feature on Ann Adams patterns.
image

image

I originally intended to do the long sleeve version, but once I started putting it together I was worried it might be a bit OTT with the print, so went for sleeveless instead.
It was a little tricky to negotiate the neckline as the fabric was a bit thick for the scallops, but lots of pressing helped. I chose some chunky wooden buttons but used poppers underneath for easy access when breastfeeding. I’m pretty pleased with it, especially as I used it as an opportunity to have a go at edging the scallops with ricrac – something I spied on Scruffy Badger’s post here.
image

image

image

Please excuse the dodgy photo – the baby woke from his nap and was crying in the background, so it was a rush job!!

image

6 thoughts on “Vintage 1960’s Ann Adams 9368 Dress Pattern

  1. Natalie says:

    Wow! I love the scalloped edges! And the fabric….it looks fab 🙂

  2. Allison Graden says:

    Wow! that came out great! I love it! Now I want one of those patterns you pictured lol!

  3. Wow!!! What an awesome dress!!! Every element: pattern, fabric, and of course ric rac!!! Looks great on too.

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
