De Ja Vu!

2

September 14, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

This is a bit of a lazy post in a way, as it involves fabric I have already shown you here, and patterns I have already made here and here.

But still, I adore this combo, and I think I probably wear the skirt at least once a week.

Cake Patterns Pavlova Skirt

The skirt fabric is a sort of satiny tafetta, and I was worried at first that is was a bit too cheap looking (mainly because it was – £1 per/m, thank you very much!!) but I love the colour and print so much I don’t care. It actually sewed up rather easily (except for the narrow hem – don’t attempt to hem a slippery circle skirt when you are in a rush!)

It also matched very closely to this gorgeous skirt I found on Pinterest, from US site Modcloth (I love Modcloth, so I’m glad it doesn’t exist in the UK, otherwise I’d be stoney broke!)

I used the Cake Pavlova pattern, but this time I made the waistband even wider (2″) and used fusible interfacing to stop it creasing and wrinkling up. I omitted the pocket this time, as although I love it, I think the print would disguise it and it would be a nightmare trying to get those little pleats in this fabric.

So there I was, all pleased with myself and the only thing left to do was give it a quick iron and then it happened. I BURNT A HOLE IN THE BLOODY THING!! Yep, like an idiot I forgot to check the dial on the iron, and approximately 1 second later, a nice melty space existed where my skirt should have been. Gutted! Luckily, I had some spare offcuts so managed to do a little patch underneath, so it’s not a write off, and because it’s such a full skirt anyway (and the hole is near the back) it’s not actually very noticeable. Phew!

20140914_120421

The top is another version of New Look 6856, in a navy and whit spot jersey cotton. It took about an hour to make, is really versatile and comfy to wear. There’s not much else I can say about a t-shirt is there?

2 thoughts on “De Ja Vu!

  1. Allison Graden says:

    I came out very cute! And haven’t we all done that with a too hot iron. happens to the best of us!

Leave a Reply

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,632 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
