New Look Dress 6123

Leave a comment

October 12, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

I seem to have a backlog of things to show you from the Summer, and I’ve just put the heating on so it must be Autumn – eek! So apologies in advance if the next few posts seem at odds with the weather, I’ll try and catch up quickly!

So, here is a little dress I made to add to my holiday wardrobe in late August. The pattern (New Look 6123) was free with a copy of Sew magazine a while ago, and has sat in my ‘patterns to make for me’ drawer for ages, as I didn’t feel hugely inspired by it.

image

However, I won some lovely stretch sateen recently in a facebook competition (the contest was to show an accessory you had made from scratch – mine was my wedding bouquet made with vintage buttons and jewellery!)

image

The fabric needed a fitted shape to do it justice,  and view A seemed to fit the bill.
If I’m honest, I thought it would be something that would be worn every now and then, and not a staple by any means. How wrong I was – it is flattering,  comfortable and has the all important wrap front for hungry baby access!!
It was pretty straightforward to make – the gathering at the sides took a bit of fiddling to get the fit right and I did my usual adjustments for my sloping shoulders and short legs. The stretch in the fabric really worked for this shape, and I’ll definitely do another version of this in a plain fabric too, although I might lower the hemline to knee length. (I’m not convinced by the other pattern styles though…)
I’m also discovering this works well with tights and a cardy too – Autumn winner!
image

image

Leave a comment

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,629 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin