Cake Patterns Pavlova Circle Skirt

2

July 9, 2014 by thepolishedbutton

Aaaages ago I bought some lovely black moss crepe to make some wide leg trousers out of. However, I decided it was a little too drapey for them, and would probably look a little eveningy, so the fabric has been languishing for a while.

I finally decided I needed to use it, and so it’s future was decided with Cake patterns Pavlova skirt. I love circle skirts on other people, but always feel a bit round and squat when I wear them – I’m only 5’2″ with an ample derriere, but I thought if I used a softer fabric, it would give it more of a 40’s feel than a structured 1950’s shape.

Cake Pavlova Pattern

 

The pattern itself is dead easy and straightforward (apart from a slight waistband tweak – I doubled the thickness as the pattern suggests a very thin band, which I just knew would cut into my tummy and be unflattering!), and came together very well. However my fabric choice meant the bias cut nature was even more troublesome than usual – the fabric was a bit of a nightmare to sew and slipped all over the shop.

The shell pocket detail is really sweet, but mine ended up a little wonky as the crepe just would. Not. Keep. Still. Grrrrr!!

Pavlova Skirt Pocket

Anyway, after a ‘hang’ overnight, and a surprisingly stress free hemming, it was all done, and I have worn it loads since – it’s perfect with my New Look boat neck top!

Cake Patterns Pavlova Skirt

 

If you like the look of this pattern, you can buy it in the shop here!

 

2 thoughts on “Cake Patterns Pavlova Circle Skirt

  1. Jenny says:

    That looks lovely on you – the perfect shape

  2. […] in a way, as it involves fabric I have already shown you here, and patterns I have already made here and […]

Leave a comment

The Polished Button Website

Click on the image to go to the website

Click the image to go to the etsy shop

Follow Me on Pinterest
mumsnet

Archives

Categories

Join 1,629 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin